ZUCCHINI NOODLE BOWL BY KATIE

This recipe is from Katie.

Katie managed to really get my attention pretty fast. Her red hair, the kayal heart she paints on her face every day and her american accent give her something truely unique and you want to get to know her better. Katie is not only a passionated singer, but also a delighted hobby cook. So I´m happy to share her zucchini noodle bowl with you!

10264868_10202659650269812_1509405667_n

486585_3825318988874_523832736_n

What do you need?

For the salad:

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 pouch of kelp noodles (if you don’t have kelp noodles in your country you can always substitute for an additional zucchini)
  • 10 baby carrots
  • 1 cup shredded red cabbage
  • 1 cup baby arugula
  • ¾ cup cauliflower
  • ¼ red onion
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Some curry powder, chili powder, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and garam masala

10276496_10202659646389715_1974840519_n

961065_10202659646109708_994047284_n

For the dressing:

  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar di modena (I prefer the aged type)
  • 3 tbsp medium chunky salsa
  • A little bit of soy sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (to add some sweetness, but you can omit this if you like)

10259496_10202659648629771_343614277_n

 What do you do?

First, you add the kelp noodles in a bowl with water and let them soak for 5-10 minutes, then strain them once they have a desirable consistency. You set the bowl aside and heat up a medium skillet with 1 tbsp of olive oil on the stove over medium-low heat. While the noodles are soaking and the skillet is heating you slice your baby carrots, cut the cauliflower into bite-sized pieces, chop the red onion, and spiralize your zucchini. If you don’t have a spiralizer you can use a mandolin or slice the zucchini into very thin noodle like slices.
Add the red onion to the skillet and add some curry powder and chili. Stir to coat the onion and let it sit until the onion is transluscent. Then add the cauliflower, baby carrots, red cabbage, and zucchini noodles to the skillet. Add the cayenne pepper, black pepper, garam masala, and if you like more curry and chili powder. Stir to coat the veggies and let it cook for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. The time spent cooking will vary depending on which stove you have and your preference as to how well done you like your vegetables. Now you can mix the ingredients for the dressing in a seperate bowl and set it aside.
When your veggies have reached the desired consistency, turn the heat to low, and add your kelp noodles, arugula, and dressing to the skillet. Stir to coat briefly and let it simmer for about 1-2 minutes. Serve in a bowl with a lovely lemon water or a green tea. You can top off your food with some cilantro or basil.

10264868_10202659650269812_1509405667_n

 

Enjoy!!

10258794_10202646368137767_2968699873222572095_n

A few word from Katie about eating what is good for you:

„As a child I was always borderline overweight. I was not the most active child and my food intake was what society would call unhealthy (I ate a lot of sweets, candy, and chips). Kids would make fun of me and call me names like swiss cheese of whale. I was not very happy about that and decided I needed a change. Eating processed and GMO (genetically modified) food day in day out was destroying my body! I developed an allergy towards wheat and a lactose intolerance! This might not only be attributable to food, but I began to understand that the body is fragile object and I need to treat it better than I have been. Hence, I cleaned up my diet! I now nourish my body with wholesome gluten-, and lactose-free foods. In addition, I do not eat meat or any animal by-products, but on occasion will eat seafood. Who can say no to some delicious salmon?! It is a common stereotype that vegetable based food doesn’t taste good or is very bland and boring. I made it my mission to prove those people wrong. I love the food I make and it is always an explosion of flavor and goodness in my mouth (what are spices for?) . If you are still skeptical about vegan and gluten-free diets I challenge you to try this recipe!

Let me know what you think!“- KATIE

Kommentar verfassen

