TOMATO MINT EGGPLANT WITH MINCED MEAT & PARMESAN

This is for you, Düsseldorf.

From may to september I called Düsseldorf my new home. It was the place where I slept, where I worked, where I cooked. So after my work at L´Oréal I would catch up with my boyfriend to cook our dinner and this eggplant recipe was one them. Düsseldorf I will always remember your    random yellow lights for pedestrians (why, just why?), the nice atmosphere at the Kasematten, the yummi food but mainly the people I met in that time.

IMG_7592

What do you need?

  • 1 eggplant per person
  • 1 package of minced meat per person
  • A bunch peppermint
  • 1-2 onions
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Olive oil & butter for frying
  • Parmesan & mozzarella
  • Tomato sauce (just take mashed tomatoes with pieces or without – as you prefer)

IMG_7581

IMG_7575

What do you do?

Cut the eggplant into slices and fry them in the pan together with some garlic cubes but without any extra oil till they almost get dark brown. Take them out of the pan and fry the meat together with the cubed onions and garlic (adjust here some butter and olive oil). Now take the meat out of the pan and adjust in the pan the tomato sauce. Salt & pepper it so it suits your taste.

IMG_7583

Arrange the eggplants of the iron sheet like this: The first layer is tomato sauce, the second layer is eggplant with 1 mint leave per slice and some parmesan, the third layer is the meat and so on. When you are finished the last layer is mozzarella cheese. Just look at the pictures if there are any confusions left.

IMG_7588

I really hope you give this awesome dish a try – the peppermint gives the whole dish some extraordinary taste.

IMG_7595

Enjoy!

Kommentar verfassen

