GAZPACHO by MIENCUISINE

This is for you Mama.

My first reaction when I tried gazpacho for the first time was, in retrospective embarrassing, „why is  this soup cold?“. I know. Embarrassing. The German in me in used to certain rules when it comes to food and that was soup=hot. In 2012 or something I went to Spain with my family and on the buffet was always placed a huge bowl with cold gazpacho. The heat made me try this dish and soon I became addicted to it. My mum and I had everyday gazpacho and loved it so much.

Now, in Vienna we faced degrees like 39 degrees, which is like 102.2 fahrenheit. Yup. My boyfriend and I couldn’t think of warm pasta or warm food in general and started talking about gazpacho all the time. So we figured it out and here is the dish!

Have a refreshing dish to this hot summer!

IMG_9216

What do you need?

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 onion
  • 1-2 garlic leaves
  • 1/2 lemon
  • A bunch of really ripe tomatoes
  • 1 bottle of tomato juice
  • Salt & fresh pepper
  • Some Worcester sauce (If you are vegetarian or vegan substitute the sauce!)
  • Some Tabasco/Sriracha sauce/SambalOelek (something spicy!)
    • A blender!

IMG_9211

What do you do?

Basically: Cut the vegetable into small pieces (you can remove the inside of the cucumber and zucchini if you like peel the skin, but I always let the skin on #wastenotwantnot) and blend all together. No magic. If you want you can leave some pieces of every vegetable separately for decoration. Adjust so much tomato juice that the consistency is like a soup. Salt, pepper, lemon juice and Sriracha sauce (or tabasco/Sambal Oelek) and Worcester sauce give the taste, so apply as much as you like (I am a salt-fan so my food is always a little „saltier“ than e.g. the food of my mum). Make sure you serve the soup cold and maybe hand some bread (I love it with garlic bread!) to it.

Enjoy!

IMG_9215

XX Miencuisine

***

DO YOU PREFER A HOT SOUP INSTEAD? No Prob!

Check out the following hot soup dishes of my blog:

GINGER CARROT SOUP WITH TUNA

GLORIOUS GARLIC SOUP

LEEK SOUP WITH CRISPY BACON

TOMATO SOUP

IMG_9215

Did you already check out my Instagram page?

Find all the pictures to my recipes here.

11659494_1675624805999558_3004961226257373639_n
Instagram shot

Did you already check out my Facebook page?

Find & like my page here.

My Facebook page
My Facebook page

4 Gedanken zu “GAZPACHO by MIENCUISINE

Kommentar verfassen

